Skip to content

STV and Employees Honored by SAME Dallas Chapter

Feb 15, 2023
Fabian Mendoza and Frances Jensen

Two of STV’s team members were recently recognized by the Society of American Military Engineers (SAME) Dallas Post for their outstanding efforts supporting the local Dallas chapter. The STV organization was also honored for its eminent contributions to SAME with the J.W. Morris Sustaining Member Award..

Fabian Mendoza, senior vice president and field services director, received the SAME Regional Vice President Award for his outstanding leadership and accomplishments in support of SAME, while Frances Jensen, marketing manager, received the Service Award for her significant service to the Dallas Post. Both were also recently reappointed to the SAME Dallas Board of Directors, with Mendoza serving as SAME Dallas’ Leader Development Chair and Jensen serving as the Communications Chair.

Mendoza, who has been involved with SAME for several years, previously served as the SAME Dallas Post President. Since the start of the COVID pandemic era, he has helped grow SAME membership, with a particular focus on leader development and the transition of service members. By utilizing his network of retired military officers, he has successfully recruited and mentored military service members who are transitioning out of the military and joining the civilian workforce. Mendoza was instrumental in working with transitioning members on the interview process, resume building, and advocating the value of engaging in the STEM field. SAME and STV have also supported efforts like Hiring our Heroes program, which connects the military community with American businesses.

“It’s been a gratifying experience to be able to lend a hand and mentor transitioning service members, while also helping them understand the value of the mission of SAME,” Mendoza said. “Our role is to link the AEC industry and its capacity to help our national defense. STV, alongside other AEC partners, brings the strength of industry knowledge to help federal agencies achieve national objectives.”

Jensen, serving as the Communications Chair, has also been involved in the SAME Dallas Post for several years. Her efforts in overseeing SAME Dallas’ social media, organizing events, and developing newsletters, garnered her recognition from the Board with her award.

“SAME is one of the most collaborative groups in the industry,” Jensen said. “Not only are the networking opportunities extremely valuable, but they’re also great avenues to learn about upcoming procurement opportunities and important federal projects. It is truly an amazing organization and I’m grateful to be a part of their team.”

STV, honored with the Sustaining Member Award, was recognized for its efforts in helping SAME Dallas with membership growth, supporting Industry Days, and championing significant events such as a water resources forum that addressed critical funding and assistance programs to help municipalities with flooding and drainage issues. STV currently has representatives in over 20 local posts, including throughout Texas, the Mid-Atlantic, as well as Oklahoma City, Boston, and Los Angeles.

Neal Wright, SAME Fellow and federal business development director for STV, is a longtime member and leader of SAME who has witnessed firsthand the value the organization brings.

“It is an honor to be recognized by SAME Dallas Post for our contributions,” Wright said. “We are a committed partner to SAME’s mission and proud to support such an action-focused and impactful organization. Fabian and Frances’ outstanding efforts and continued leadership at the SAME Dallas Post further our goal of helping our federal clients to accomplish their critical missions.”